Local saddlebags

Its been an interesting couple of days. At-StLazare sand pits yesterday now three Great Egrets, a nice flock of 30 Purple Martins and a hawking Common Nighthawk. I was actually dragonflying, trying to hit the swarming darners, luck was on my side. Over one of the rough fields around 30 Green Darners and variable numbers of Canada, Shadow and Lance-tipped Darners hawked. With patience and luck I managed a couple of snaps of perched but wary insects.

At lunchtime today I was sat in my wife’s office when I saw a hawking dragonfly patrolling the area between the buildings. Because Senneville is on a migration route I always keep a pair of bins at the ready, this time instead of focussing on a passing hawk I zeroed in on a Black Saddlebags dragonfly, a pretty rare species in Quebec, but then these things are only rare in relation to the number of people looking. Tomorrow I’ll take the camera in and try for a shot if still present.

On the way home I did the Chemin du l’Anse at Vaudreuil, the water was up a bit on my last visit and shorebirds scattered. I’m pretty sure I got on to an adult Western Sandpiper seconds before a Copper’s Hawk joined the party and the shorebirds went in all directions, I’ll have another go at that tomorrow also.

For those interested in odonata, I’ve started putting the ID pages up, I did a trial to see whether they download and then load into iPods and iPhones, they do and seem ok, comments welcome.

Post breeding female Northern Cardinal.

Green Darner, very common at the moment.

Lance-tipped Darner, one of many swarming.

Twelve-spotted Skimmer

One thought on “Local saddlebags

  1. I have been a member of BPQ for years, but have just become an active birder again. I share your fascination with dragonflies, and am impressed with your beautiful photos.
    I have some nice photos of the larger, showier dragonflies, but haven’t been able to identify many of my photos. When I get a job again, I plan to get the Algonquin Park guide and “Dragonflies through Binoculars. I am identifying only from photos, because I don’t want to kill these lovely creatures just to put a name to them. The Stokes “Beginners Guide to Dragonflies” has been quite helpful.
    I recommend a visit to Murphy’s Point Provincial Park in Ontario, near Perth – halfway between Ottawa and Kingston. There is a large variety of lake and marsh-associated odonata there.
    I have posted a few photos to my Flickr page: http://www.flickr.com/photos/30037241@N03/sets/72157622837966576/
    Pat Stotland (Montreal – NDG)

Leave a Reply

