Bit parky

For those not raised in the UK, a bit parky means it is cold. The overnight temp was -18, it warmed up a bit during the day though, below the temp at 13:00!

I took a tour of the lanes again today, bad idea, the freeze up made the roads entertaining and a few saloons found it all too much and retired to the ditches. I managed to stay on the right bit but I don’t think the distant Snowy Owl was worth it. Closer to home I got lucky with a Pileated Woodpecker. I put the suet blocks out yesterday and one is straight on them. I noticed it was flying in to one particular tree before crossing to the feeders and so waited, but not too long, I still value my ears. I managed a couple of shots and, seeing this enormous woodpecker close up makes you wonder how big an Ivory-billed would have appeared, I guess we will never know.

Leave a Reply

