A bit gloomy

The fine weather finally broke after four straight record breaking highs and we have settled into a rather gloomy spell which has stymied migration somewhat.

Last Friday I had a little look around locally, adding Bufflehead to the pits year list, an exquisite male was bobbing around on the ever growing open area of water. It seemed to be a rather flat day, clear ones can be like that times, so I got back on the keyboard, writing up a coulple of more years for my birding book which will be up in a day or so. I took my lunch on the deck and looked up and there was a magnificent adult Bald Eagle lazily wheeling around. It was quite high but I snapped a few frames anyway, then I noticed that one of our American Robins had seen it too and was in alert posture with the crown feathers peaked. I don’t think an American Robin would form a part of a Bald Eagles diet except perhaps as carrion, but it was interesting to see the response.

 

Leave a Reply

