First snow (bunting)

We have a set of north easterly winds here that seem set in for a few days and they have started to produce limited results in my area. Starting at the pits, it seemed that nothing was happening visible migration wise but a single Snow Bunting was welcome is some ways. I moved on to nearby Montee Chenier where five American Golden Plovers were crouching in their field and thankfully at range because, as I parked, a couple of old men came past, stopped, locked and loaded and started to take out the Canada Geese in the oppostie field so I left. I don’t like to see the geese get blasted but I try to see the positives. The shooter’s generation is fading, the next is not quite so bad and the most recent are all obese and sitting in front of their X-Boxes so hang in there geese, in 50 years the Human Race might have abandoned the need to shoot things for pleasure which to me just seems psychotic.

My next stop was Hungry Bay near Velleyfield. In a couple of hours I’d seen six each of Common Loon and Red-necked Grebe as well as my first American Tree Sparrows of the autumn. I’d just returned to the car and had one more scan when there was an adult Red-throated Loon out in the minch, very nice. The photo below is not a ‘Where’s Waldo’ thing, honestly.

My final port of call was the Great Egret Trail at Dundee. A few yards onto the trail and I was looking at slightly obscured Sandhill Cranes, two of them. Sandhills are always great to see and I managed a digiscoped shot before they wandered off. Further on I came across a little group of Cedar Waxwings stripping a berry bush, a double take showed two Bohemian Waxwings amongst them also and a few Rusty Blackbirds.

Tomorrow I think I’ll stick at the viz-mig, given that there are scoters galore on the Ottawa River and I’m on a sort of flight path. Who knows? Tomorrow I might get Black and White-winged Scoters at the pits, you can be sure that I’ll tell you if I do.

Leave a Reply

