Higgins feeders

As it was March 1st I thought it was time for the annual visit to the excellent and easily viewed feeders on Rue Higgins, Chatauguay. The prime reason most birders drop by is to see Red-bellied Woodpecker – a tricky species to find in Quebec sometimes. The site also has friendly Carolina Wrens and Tufted Titmice so it is always well worth the trip, a trip made much easier from St-Lazare now we have highway 30 fully open.

On the way there I dropped into a few places seeing more Snow Buntings than I did in the whole of February. I also passed a nice flock of 60 Bohemian Waxwings and 40 American Robins, Chatauguay always seems very birdy whenever I visit. At the site, a Carolina Wren sang in full view but I struggled to focus the mini camera, still that is part of the learning curve. I could also hear Tufted Titmouse calling away all the while I was there, then the star of the show turned up but stuck to the feeders. I did take a few snaps for practice.

In ther afternoon I ventured out owling scoring easily with the regular St-Lazare Great Grey Owl. Feeling lucky, I went out around St-Clet and came across a Snowy Owl on the first barn roof on Ste-Julie. Despite fading light and snow getting heavier I snapped away and the results are not too bad.

Here are the shots. The sparrows are House Sparrows thereby proving that they do occur on dates other than January 1st!

DSCN0311 DSCN0308 DSCN0302 DSCN0298 DSCN0273 DSCN0262 DSCN0251 DSCN0238

Leave a Reply

