Sharpie

Stocking the feeders with redpolls finally paid off today when this nice Sharp-shinned Hawk showed up. I took a few shots through the window, expecting nothing more than a blink and whoosh but this bird just sat. Encouraged I went outside and edged up to around 20 feet, it still sat. So kept going until I was stood eight feet from it and it still sat. In the end I had to tell it to bugger off before it took any notice, the tell-tale calls of the hiding redpolls endorsing my decision to chase it off. Earlier in the day there was a Hoary Redpoll with the redpoll flock, the first I’ve seen for a couple of weeks – hope the sharpie didn’t eat it!

All photos with the Nikon Coolpix S510 – no sharpening!

DSCN0372 DSCN0366 DSCN0337

Leave a Reply

