Woodpecker watching

This morning I had the very great pleasure of watching three White-headed Woodpeckers prat around in a tree. Just over two weeks ago they were semi-mythical, now, whenever I walk the paved trail at Galena Creek, there they are. Admitedly they don’t come close enough for a tonsil shot but I’m not complaining. That first hour or so of the day sets me up for work and the evening birding wraps things up nicely. Home in four days

An email message on NV Audubon prompted me to head south this evening to look for a couple of Sandhill Cranes on the Washoe ‘patch’. They were easy enough, poddling around a pasture by a busy highway with no sense of aesthetics. I also walked a creek in the area and saw a Long-eared Owl but the luck didn’t end there. As I walked back to the road an adult Golden Eagle passed perhaps 50’ directly overhead, I could get used to this!

So the photos are mainly black & white but then so are the birds. To add a splash of colour there is a Spotted Towhee that was 121 paces away from me, I counted. Those little cameras are remarkable and, while National Geographic will not setting out to write a cheque, it’s not a bad record shot. For those of you now hooked on scenery shots, here is part of Washoe Lake taken from just in front of me.

DSCN0913 DSCN0914 DSCN0920 DSCN0925 DSCN0927 DSCN0929

Leave a Reply

