Happy Christmas

Recently the weather has been vile but we did better than Toronto for once with no ice storm and no loss of power. Usually we end up sitting in the semi-dark, frantically stoking the fire until Hydro-Québec do their stuff. This time we got mostly snow plus a few ice pellets but nothing we couldn’t deal with. The harsh weather has been particularly tough on the birds but all birders have feeders and that keeps them going at times like this. I’ve been to St-Lazare sand pits a few times and keep a feeding spot stocked there. Nearby to the pits (within the area I record from) sit houses worth half a million dollars but their owners can’t be bothered to stock the feeders they have so it looks like there will be no end of year House Finch for the pits list as I’d hoped. I keep checking the snowy lumps for snowy lumps too but that is just wishful thinking I think. Below a few views of the snowy pits.

DSCN3463 DSCN3464 DSCN3467 DSCN3469

The owl fest continues when you can actually get out there. The roads today were sheet ice in places and the ploughs still have a lot to do. I got to tour the lanes of St-Clet seeing 14 Snowy Owls, some close as in on utility poles next to the road. Some were high, as in roadside trees and a fair few just sat out on the snow keeping an eye on the Coyotes that become so visible during the winter.

Before New Year I’ll do a review – as usual – and I’ll be recycling the photos I liked the best from the year. For now here are a few photos from this morning. I’d have sat a bit longer with the owl on the utility pole but the local bottom feeders do not like parked cars as it means they have to slow their vehicles down and turn their steering wheel a bit – strenuous!

Finally a Happy Christmas to all readers – whatever you believe in. I hope I’ve kept you entertained and informed this past year.

IMG_7154 IMG_7172 IMG_7181 IMG_7182